Skip to content

Jeff Does Interning

March 31, 2009

The end of the year is a bittersweet time. I’m going to be glad to be done with tedious assignments, and I’m more than ready to move on into the workforce and feel like I’m moving ahead with my life. There’s a good amount of feeling stagnant when you’re studying and being poor. But then there’s all the really great stuff you get to learn. I digress, I wanted to talk about moving into an industry, publishing, that is rapidly changing. E books webzines, are these the future of publishing? If so does this mean a great new body of work will emerge? And how and who is going to make money from any of this (especially since the greatest asset of the internet is the free flow of information)?I just a read a great article, “Amazon: Thinking Beyond the Kindle”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    April 10, 2009 10:53 pm

    You’re going to do great. The ROI of the internet and, indeed, all this seemingly silly stuff is that it has long term dividends. For you, it will come from making a connection online you might not have made without a presence in a network. Or perhaps it will be the provision of a particularly smart blog post or series of resources during your internship or on the job. Every year, I get emails from former students telling me that this weird stuff they did in my course (which seemed pretty useless at the time) got them a job. A job that pays for their nice apartment and clothing and phone bills and stuff like that! So feel assured that all that you’ve studied in all these courses will, at some point, have value – if not right away. I know, I was a student, too 🙂 And everything you said above I have felt many times over.

    All the best!

Leave a Reply

