Skip to content

The Hills Season Finale

July 20, 2010

I bombed a job interview that took one hour to drive to. I was so pissed off I took a road trip out of the city and spent some time with friends in the burbs. On my drive back in I received a phone call from an application I had sent in the day before. I will be travelling to Moose Factory via the Polar Bear Express.

What does that have to do with The Hills’ season finale? When you pull away the curtain of a falsely constructed reality there are a myriad of other possibilities.

I went to a job interview for a job I knew I didn’t want. After my last office experience I know I find adminstration mind numbing and debilitating to my real sense of enjoyment, being creative. Yet, I’m stuck believing that it is the only way for one to work. I went to university, I’m supposed to get an office job (I don’t mean a high paying office job. I’ve never made more than 28K a year at any job. I know the reality of work.), and I’m supposed to tough it out.

Then there are dreams of other things. I want to see the farthest corners of Canada. I want to write about it. I want to explore my own limitations and move past them.

So, I bombed the interview, and now I will be going to Moose Factory for ten days on a culture exchange trip and riding on the Polar Bear Express. It’s pretty fucking sweet. Since I’ve moved to Canada ten years ago I’ve wanted to see the James Bay.

It’s a nine hour drive to Cochrane and another five hours on the Polar Bear Express. Moose Factory is in the Moose River near James Bay in Northeastern Ontario. It was the site of the first English settlement in the Province of Ontario (1673) and is the home of the Moose Cree First Nation.

I haven’t received the full details yet, but it should be fun.It should provide ample opportunity to meet people, learn, and hear new stories.

In the news here’s what I’ve found:

An article in Tuesday’s Globe and Mail by Joseph Quesnel examines the illegal tobacco trade in First Nations communities. It’s easy to understand why this happens, and Quesnel makes some valid points succinctly and even refers to the Indian Act. The article is titled “To kick their illegal tobacco habit, first nations need other opportunities,” I don’t want to borrow too much of it but the sum of it is:

The Indian Act makes most business decisions subject to the Minister of Indian Affairs, a burden that makes it that much more difficult for first nations entrepreneurs to operate and compete economically. The First Nations Tax Commission estimates it is 10 times more difficult to create wealth in its communities than elsewhere. Local governments use infrastructure to entice investors to develop their lands, which creates jobs and wealth. The FNTC says a typical Canadian community entices $5-million in private investment for every $1-million it invests in infrastructure improvements, but a typical first nation will entice barely a quarter of that, just $1.5-million from the same investment. In addition, for a variety of reasons, a typical first nation must commit three times as much tax revenue to finance the same infrastructure. The combination of these factors makes wealth 10 times harder to create.

The comments board has some of the best trolling I’ve read this week. That doesn’t take away from the article, but they’re pretty funny.

Manitoba has named Jamie Wilson as the new treaty relations commissioner. In this piece of good news, he sounds like a person who really wants to educate Canadians on the living, breathing documents that bind us together. The article is “Breathing new life into Canada’s treaties

If you like West Coast oysters, K’ómoks First Nation has signed a deal with Thrifty foods to supply them with their sweet  Komo Gway-brand beach-raised oysters and clams. The article is “First Nation inks exclusive aquaculture deal with Thrifty Foods.” Oysters are an awesome summer food.

Oysters are going to be the new chicken wings — that’s our goal.
I came across a blog that asked some heart breaking questions around the bad news stories of First Nation youths in B.C., but concluded with some happy thoughts. The blog title is Thoughts on Education and the First Nations Communities:
As I read through webpages and research after research after the First Nations people, I become more intrigued by their intricate level of community, expression, and artistic and wholesome appreciation for life.
TEZTAN BINY
 
The good fight to save their land is still going on. I just read this excerpt from this press release issued July 7 from the Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs:
On behalf of the Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs, the Tsilhqot’in Nation enjoys the full commitment of the UBCIC in support of your collective efforts to protect Teztan Biny and Nabas from complete destruction and obliteration as a consequence of the proposed Prosperity Mine by Taseko Mining Limited.
A Tsilqot’in National Government press release on July 14 raised an interesting point.

Taseko Mines Ltd’s proposed Prosperity Mine would cost British Columbians at least $20 million a year, with hydro subsidies and other costs dwarfing any benefits the mine might create for the government, according to a detailed analysis of the company’s Environmental Impact Statement.

I’ve never watched a full episode of The Hills. I do watch Jersey Shore though. It’s inexplicable and fascinating, Jersey Shore that is. But the finale of The Hills was something else. The cast of Jersey Shore should go on a cultural exchange to The Hills. I bet they get along better than we can imagine.

Once they get past their subtle differences, they would realize they are both just acting for the camera. I mean they both like the beach. And no one likes Snooki. Maybe their realities would be so altered they would just stare blankly at the camera. “What do we do now?” Well, whatever you want.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

